A visit to Melville Castle Hotel was the final outing of the season. It was led by the president who gave a short summary of the history of the building. The estate was noted as far back as 1155 when it belonged to Galfrid de Malleville. In the 18th century it became the seat of Henry Dundas, Viscount Melville who was virtually ruler of Scotland until his death in 1811. The estate remained in the possession of the Dundas family until c1980. It is now a hotel where Members had tea and visited the restored main rooms.
After the Castle visit certain Members explored the forested grounds. The most notable tree is a majestic Spanish Chestnut which was planted some 450 years ago by a companion of Queen Marie Stuart, Seigneur David Rizzio as an act of friendship.
On Saturday 19 August 2017 the East Lothian Antiquarian & Field Naturalists’ Society made its 4th Summer Programme visit to Torness Nuclear Power Station.
Members thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience finding the strict security procedures, technology and grand scale of operations most interesting.
The guide also alluded to a somewhat unexpected field naturalist aspect being the power station having been awarded the Biodiversity Benchmark by the Wildlife Trusts for its work in protecting and enhancing the unique and diverse wild life around its operation. Most of the Members were not aware of the Torness Coastal Walkway and on another occasion this may be explored.
The visit was rounded off with tea and biscuits provided by the most enthusiastic and knowledgeable guides.
The next Society visit will be to Keith Marischal House on Saturday 16 September.
Photo credit © EDF
East Lothian Antiquarian and Field Naturalists Society made a visit to Penicuik House and Estate on Saturday 10th September.
Penicuik House was destroyed by Fire in June 1899.When the Society last visited some years ago the house was still largely full of rubble and covered by vegetation.
The East Lothian Antiquarian and Field Naturalists’ Society had their third summer programme visit on Saturday 6 August 2016. Members received a very warm and enthusiastic welcome from the owners of Monkton House, Old Craighall, near Musselburgh.
A party of Members and guests of East Lothian Antiquarian and Field Naturalists Society visited Mertoun,near St. Boswells, the home of the Duke and Duchess of Sutherland on Saturday 2nd July. They were welcomed by the Duke who outlined the history of the house, which was originally built by Sir William Bruce for Sir William Scott of Harden between 1703-5 and of the art collection. He then conducted the party on a tour of the mansion house. At the conclusion of the tour refreshments were provided. The President thanked The Duke, the Duchess and their staff for what was a most memorable visit.
The East Lothian Antiquarian and Field Naturalist Society enjoyed a field trip to Pressmennan Wood on Saturday 4th June.
On Saturday 6th June the Society visited Aberlady Bay the outing was organised by John Hunt and led by the warden John Harrison This was a very pleasant afternoon.
The 92nd Annual General meeting of the Society was held on Saturday 21st May 2016 in Tranent Parish Church, BW. The meeting was followed by a talk by Mrs. Joy Dodd on the study of the gravestones in the church yard. There are many fine old grave stones in Tranent churchyard.
Please note different dates from the sheet issued. Continue reading
The 10th AGM of East Lothian Antiquarian and Field Naturalists’Society was held in Prestongrange Parish church on Saturday May 11th by kind permission of the Kirk Session.